Today I tweeted a story from Bon Appetit titled, "80 delicious hot dog ideas from around the world." One of the hot dog ideas had vegan mayo on it and in the comments of that story, one person claimed ridiculousness with that concept:
I edited out the first part of the comment because it was a bit mean spirited. I see where the commenter is coming from, so I'm here to explain why putting vegan mayo on a hot dog is NOT ridiculous.
I have allergies to cow and goat milk, and to eggs. I cannot eat your basic Kraft mayonnaise made with eggs unless I'm prepared for gastric havoc and hours of playing "Pull my finger." It's really tough too because I used to really love eating tuna salad with regular mayo.
Just because one cannot do eggs doesn't mean that life has to be deprived of mayonnaise. No. We just have to use versions of mayo that are not made with eggs LIKE vegan mayo because I can tell you I have yet to see the "egg allergic" mayo. I eat meat. My body just doesn't jive with the animal's by-products.
When you go to the condiment aisle at the grocery store rarely, if ever, do you see products like mayo marketed as "dairy and egg free." There are some niche products, but usually you have to order those from some internet health food store and they are shipped from some far, far away land where non-dairy and egg goodness prevail...Ok, I jest.
It's about marketing
More often you'll see "vegan" mayo or sandwich spread because from a purely marketing verbage standpoint, the vegan market is much bigger than a market of people who are dairy and egg free because of food allergies, just don't like it, or are on some special diet. Having been a former marketeer, I can tell you that packaging is almost always driven by market size.
I get the funniest looks all the time when I eat a hamburger or hot dog and put vegan mayo on it because like that Bon Appetit commenter it is often automatically assumed that you have to be vegan to eat vegan marketed foods.
The next time you see someone ordering a meat dish with some vegan side or condiment, remember they could have food allergies.
If you happen to see a bottle of mayo clearly stamped with "Egg and Dairy free" not "Vegan" on it like Vegenaise, please do let me know. Would love to see pictures, and try the product. I've seen Kelkin and Plamil.