If you are trying to avoid products that have any kind of dairy, reading labels may be a little more tricky than just looking for the word "milk." Dairy includes animal milks (cow, goat, sheep), creams, creme fraiche, butter, yogurt, kephir, custard, puddings, nougat, cheese, ice cream, gelato, sherbert, ice milk, milkshakes, and some margarine.
To note, just because a food package says, "No dairy" does not mean it is also egg free. Eggs may or may not be considered dairy depending on the culture or region you are in, so if you are also trying to avoid eggs, still be sure to check the label or look for "No eggs" on the packaging along side the "No dairy" verbage.
Here are some other items on ingredients labels to look for that contain dairy:
- Lactose
- Lactulose
- Whey
- Curds
- Casein
- Rennet
- Ghee
- Whey and Casein Hydrolysates
- Lactalbumin
- Lactoglobulin
Source: Whole Foods Dairy Free Eating and Wikipedia